Childish Gambino – …Awaken, My Love! [Album]


Oh yes, it’s here my friends. Childish Gambino has finally dropped his highly anticipated …Awaken, My Love!

…Awaken, My Love! is unlike anything out right now. It’s unique. We get a mixture of funk, soul, and R&B – with literally no rapping, which is surprisingly ok. Gambino has taken a 360 turn on his music style, and has successfully resurrected a forgotten genre.

…Awaken, My Love! will have you feeling several types of ways. Each song tells a different story. “Have Some Love” puts you at a family reunion BBQ, bonding with the loved ones. “Zombies” puts you in a scene straight outta Stranger Things. “Redbone” will take you back to being a youngin’ in your grandpa’s living room, jamming classic vinyl.  “California” will take you to an island in the middle of nowhere, sippin’ on a piña colada.

Childish Gambino is a man of many, many talents and continues to amaze us left and right. Peep …Awaken, My Love! for yourself below:

Childish Gambino – “Redbone”


Alright, Gambino is (truly) a mastermind. In light of his upcoming album, …Awaken, My Love!, he dropped the single “Redbone” and it is just as mindblowing-ly unique as “Me and Your Mama“.

“Redbone” samples a sped-up version of Jaco Pasourius‘ “Portrait Of Tracy”, from all the way back in 1976. Gambino doesn’t rap on the track (again) but the vocals that he does give us kind of remind me of a young, more modern, Barry White.

In a recent interview with Billboard, Gambino describes his upcoming album, …Awaken, My Love!, as being influenced by the music that he grew up on:

“I remember listening to songs my dad would play—albums by the Isleys or Funkadelic—and not understanding the feeling I was feeling. I remember hearing a Funkadelic scream and being like, ‘Wow, that’s sexual and it’s scary.’ Not having a name for that, though; just having a feeling. That’s what made it great.” – Donald Glover

Peep “Redbone” below, and stay on the lookout for …Awaken, My Love!, expected Dec. 2!

Childish Gambino – …Awaken, My Love! [Album Details + Single]


Well folks, it looks like Childish Gambino has FINALLY broken silence on his plan for releasing new music. Today he dropped “Me And Your Mama”, and released details on his upcoming album, …Awaken, My Love!, including the artwork, tracklist, and release date.

Gambino’s upcoming album, …Awaken, My Love! is set to drop on Dec. 2nd. There are no announced features at the moment. Check out the tracklist:

1. Me and Your Mama
2. Have Some Love
3. Boogieman
4. Zombies
5. Riot
6. Redbone
7. California
8. Terrified
9. Baby Boy
10. The Night Me and Your Mama Met
11. Stand Tall

Back in September, Gambino hosted his Pharos event at Joshua Tree where he performed the whole album. Cell phones/cameras/recording devices weren’t allowed, so there is no actual footage of it.  Attendees described the album as a whole new side of Gambino, with very little rapping, and “Me And Your Mama” confirms just that.

Stream “Me And Your Mama” below and preorder …Awaken, My Love! here.

Childish Gambino – Atlanta [Teasers]


Today, Donald Glover (aka Childish Gambino) released a set of six 15-second teasers for his upcoming FX series Atlanta. Atlanta has already been super hyped ever since the first promo premiered at the end of the season finale of The People v. OJ Simpson: American Crime Story. It’s still unclear what the series will truly be about, but we can expect the best.

Atlanta is set to premier on Sept. 6 on FX. Peep the teasers below.

Childish Gambino, Jhene Aiko and Vince Staples – “Waiting For My Moment”


Is it possible, or safe, to have so much star power on one track? Whew! Straight from the Creed motion picture soundtrack  Childish Gambino, Jhene Aiko and  Vince Staples have linked up to bring us this epic track. Accompanied by composer Ludwig Goransson, Gambino and Aiko take the first verse to croon and sing as the song builds. Vince Staples takes the second verse to spit some hard but honest bars. Definitely a dope track that compliments a should be dope movie. Creed is set to hit theatres November 25, you can listen to “Waiting For My Moment” below.